Mental barriers

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Mental barriers

Post  scatanas on Fri Nov 02, 2012 3:39 pm

Hi Mr. Vizzutti,

thanks for answering questions on this forum, and I wanna say that I really enjoy your playing and watch your YouTube videos all the time, because they're inspiring.

Umm, so my question is about "mental barriers". Have you ever experienced one? I feel like i have such a thing going on with range. I've been playing for about 8 years and I STILL get intimidated by high notes and I always regard them as "high" (by high i mean anything over the A on top of the staff...).
Although I've been told that i have a very good, solid sound on the staff and below, range is just not something that came naturally to me so i've always had issues with it.

One time I spoke to Wynton Marsalis and he said something to me that kinda stuck: "You're only gonna be as good as you THINK you can be..." Was he right??
And if so, how do i break this mental barrier of range??? It's frustrating bc i feel like i've tried everything (improving on buzzing....playing a song and taking it up a semitone each week...long notes....lip flexibilities...but still i can't get those "high" notes..)

Any word of advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Sabin

scatanas

View user profile

Back to top Go down

High Notes and Mental Barriers

Post  Allen_Vizzutti on Sat Nov 03, 2012 12:48 am

Thanks for you nice comments. Here is an excerpt from my "High Notes" book available on this web site.

"The basics of trumpet playing are not complicated. The combined elements of personality, physique, equipment and concept create myriad variations affecting how successfully, (or often unsuccessfully), we achieve a consistently high level of trumpet performance. Regardless of how long you have been playing trumpet, and for the sake of clarity, I believe revisiting some relevant basic concepts and physical facts regarding trumpet performance is important.